You are here » About PAG»Annual Awards

Annual Awards

  1. Timothy M. Ahrens Partnering Award
  2. Thomas L. Swanson Regional Leadership Award

Timothy M. Ahrens Partnering Award


The Timothy M. Ahrens Partnering Award was established in 2014 to recognize the first manager of the Regional Transportation Authority and his spirit of cooperation.

The late Mr. Ahrens was the RTA manager for Pima Association of Governments during development of the $2.1 billion, 20-year RTA plan. Besides having strong financial acumen, Mr. Ahrens understood how to reach a common goal and was admired by many for his cooperative spirit, engaging sense of humor and positive attitude.

2017 Application

2017 application will be posted here after Jan. 1, 2017.

Award Presentation

May 2016

Ahrens Partnering  Award Recipients
2016 City of Tucson
2015 Pima County
2014 Town of Sahuarita


Thomas L. Swanson Regional Leadership Award

Above, the PAG Regional Council present Hurvie Davis (second from right), with the 2015 Thomas L. Swanson Regional Leadership Award. Shown from left are: Regional Council member and Tucson Mayor Jonathan Rothschild, Regional Council Chair and Pima County Supervisor Ramón Valadez, Hurvie Davis, and Regional Council member and Marana Mayor Ed Honea.


The Thomas L. Swanson Regional Leadership Award was established by Pima Association of Governments' (PAG) Regional Council in June 2004 in dedication of the late Thomas L. Swanson, a former executive director of PAG. Mr. Swanson distinguished himself throughout his career by working in cooperation with all segments of our community to address regional issues such as transportation, population growth, air quality and water quality.

Recipient Criteria for the award include the following :

  • Must enhance the regional community despite often restrictive jurisdictional boundaries
  • Must promote cooperation among citizens and local elected officials
  • Must provide leadership on regional issues such as: transportation, air quality, water quality and economic vitality

2017 Nomination Form

2017 Thomas L. Swanson Nomination Form

Award Presentation

January 2017

Swanson Leadership Award Recipients
2015 Hurvie Davis
2014 Katie Dusenberry
2012 The late Timothy M. Ahrens
2011 Sarah Smallhouse
2009 T VanHook
2008 Greg Gentsch
2007 The late William R. "Bill" Reilly
2006 Dick Roberts, Chet Davis
2005 Sheila Bowen
2004 Thomas McGovern

©Pima Association of Governments | 1 E Broadway Blvd, Suite 401, Tucson, AZ 85701 | Telephone (520) 792-1093, FAX (520) 620-6981