You are here » Newsroom»Thomas L. Swanson Award

Thomas L. Swanson Regional Leadership Award

The Thomas L. Swanson Regional Leadership Award was established by Pima Association of Governments (PAG) Regional Council in June 2004 in dedication of the late Thomas L. Swanson, former executive director of PAG. Mr. Swanson distinguished himself throughout his career by working in cooperation with all segments of our community to address regional issues such as transportation, population growth, air quality and water quality.

The recipient of this year's Swanson Award is Katie Dusenberry, who was recognized for her many years of outstanding community leadership in areas such as her role as 2005 co-chair of the Regional Transportation Authority's Citizens Advisory Committee, her numerous local and state-appointed and elected positions, and her involvement on strategic projects ranging from zoning to the environment.

Dusenberry served nine years on the Tucson Unified School District Board, eight years on the Pima County Board of Supervisors and six years as the Governor-appointed Pima County represenative on the Arizona State Transportation Board at the same time as she served on the PAG Regional Council. Dusenberry, a native Arizonan, said she was always interested in transportation because, for many years, she and her husband Bruce owned Horizon Moving Systems which, of course, had "many vehicles" on the road.

The award was presented on Sept. 25, 2014, during PAG's Regional Council meeting.


Pima Association of Governments seeks nominations for annual leadership award

Nominations for Pima Association of Governments’ annual Thomas L. Swanson Regional Leadership Award will be accepted through July 30, 2014.

Criteria for the award include the following:

  • The recipient must enhance the regional community despite often restrictive jurisdictional boundaries.
  • The recipient must promote cooperation among citizens and local elected officials.
  • The recipient must provide leadership for innovation on regional issues such as:
    • Transportation
    • Population growth
    • Air quality
    • Water quality

Nominations must be received no later than July 30, 2014. The award recipient will be announced at a future meeting of PAG’s Regional Council.


Swanson Award


©Pima Association of Governments | 1 E Broadway Blvd, Suite 401, Tucson, AZ 85701 | Telephone (520) 792-1093, FAX (520) 620-6981